Vegan Mac & Cheese

I’ve been craving for Macaroni & Cheese and couldn’t wait to cook it, veganized way. And since I started a gluten-free diet for my father last week, I included this on his meal plan.

Therine’s Health Haven’s stock of nutritional yeast arrived last Sunday from Canada. And available in my online store on Facebook.  While searching for recipes, I came across with this website  rabbitfoodformybunnyteeth.com and saw this vegan mac & cheese recipe.

nooch1

Nutritional yeast also known as nooch is a deactivated yeast of Saccharomyces cerevisae, sugar-eating fungus, yeast cells use the sugar for energy which is sold commercially as a food product in flakes or powdered forms. It is gluten-free and one of the must-haves in a vegan pantry in place of dairy cheese. It has a nutty and savory cheesy flavor and used as an ingredient in making pasta, sauces, or condiment in salad dressings and other dishes.

In Dr. Josh Axe’s article about nutritional yeast  https://draxe.com/nutritional-yeast , he said that  it is a “perfect addition to any meal — providing nutrition while saving calories — nutritional yeast is one source of complete protein and vitamins, in particular B-complex vitamins. It contains folates, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, selenium and zinc, making it a great superfood! It’s low in sodium and doesn’t contain any added sugars or preservatives.” He also said that nutritional yeast is a  “great source of vitamin B6 and vitamin B12 and their benefits; however, because yeast cannot produce B12, if it is listed on the label, that means it has been fortified with it.”

So I started doing the mise en place, preparing all the ingredients needed.

img_20170128_124341
Almond milk, nutritional yeast, vegan butter, Himalayan pink salt and cooked quinoa
img_20170128_123624
steamed broccoli

So here’s  Catherine (my namesake) of Rabbit Food for My Bunny Teeth’s recipe:

Vegan (Quinoa) Mac & Cheese
Serves 1

2 cups broccoli
1/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (Vanilla flavored almond milk is in the pantry)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes
1 Tbsp whole wheat flour (you could also use spelt, rice, or tapioca flour)
1/2 tsp dijon mustard
1/4 tsp garlic powder ( I used fresh minced garlic)
pinch of salt

“Cook quinoa over stove with water to package instructions until fluffy and soft. In a separate saucepan over media heat, combine almond milk, nutritional yeast, whole wheat flour, dijon mustard, garlic powder, and salt. Stir the sauce for about 4 minutes until it becomes thick. Cut and steam broccoli and add to the cooked quinoa. Transfer the cheese sauce to the quinoa and broccoli and coat evenly. Serve hot, enjoy!”

I added vegan butter for added flavor. I used Nuttelex Kosher.

So here’s my finished quinoa mac & cheese.

IMG_20170128_131545.jpg

My husband and father liked it. I will definitely cook this again and I will use cauliflower and add carrots or other available veggies to make a tweak. You, too can can to whip this easy recipe up. It sure will be a staple food in your household.

I’ll be posting more dishes using nutritional yeast as I am still looking for more recipe inspirations over the net.

For those who would like to try nutritional yeast, you can check out my Instagram account, @therineshealthhaven

or my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/therineshealthhaven

Sources: Wikipedia, Dr. Josh Axe and rabbitfoodformybunnyteeth.com

Leave a Reply

